My interview with Watch Commander

In each issue of my zine, Velocitylab, I try to reach out to different artists across many genres, each of whom have their own way of inspiring (and in a way reassuring) me that there is real talent out there – true inspiration… You just have to remain undaunted. And keep searching through the deluge…

So, here’s one of the interviews from the latest issue of Velocitylab. It’s with a melodic punk rock band from Worcester UK: Watch Commander. Hope you enjoy.

Cheers!
T S O K O S

Watch Commander image Velocitylab

Velocitylab Interviews: WATCH COMMANDER!

Watch Commander are from Worcester UK and play melodic punk rock. Check out their interview in the latest issue of Velocitylab!

Thank you for your time, Si! Tell me a little bit more about Watch Commander.

We’ve been playing together since January 2011, that’s when we first got together. We were all based in our hometown of Worcester, some of us knew each other from way back, and others we knew from other local bands. From the beginning I had some songs written so we started by playing through those, and about seven weeks after the first time we got together we ended up recording a four-song demo. (For those that don’t know the UK so well, Worcester is a small city in the West Midlands region of England, not too far from Birmingham, not too far from Wales. It’s a small place with an even smaller music scene.)

Clock and Compass is a well-crafted album of melodic punk rock yet it feels even larger in scope. Tell me about how the lyrics and music come together cohesively to tell this story. Even the album art seems to lend itself to it.

Thanks man. The whole record was written in a pretty short space of time, over a couple of months in the second half of 2011. I think that resulted in some level of cohesion to the music/lyrics as I was writing from one particular place in my head. It’s not a concept album by any means, but there’s a theme throughout that speaks about trying to live in the present without being weighed down by the past, and allowing yourself to be happy despite the ways you have lived before. It’s also informed by the time I spent living in the USA (Albany, NY & Vermont) and being back and forth between places I’d call home. The album artwork has a nautical theme to it, influenced by that travelling and the ocean I kept crossing. I hope it all ties in together but I never know if it comes across.

<…Keep reading the rest of the interview @Velocitylab…>

Leave a Reply

